First Steps

Exploring the world through caring thoughts, the freedoms of guilt free emotions, and looking at the world through the eyes of someone elses perspective seeking to enhance and set free your soul by opening your heart and mind

NEW TO LOOK OLD

Leave a comment

 

I’m blown away at the amount of Chabby Chic that’s out there these days. It gorgeous yes. I love it, yes YES!!! However,  I do wonder why people charge so much when there are sites such as PINTREST, or even GOOGLE to answer any of your questions, needs or even desires on “how to’s” As a photographer and hobby blogger, I noticed that people aren’t saying anything…or maybe I’m just not hearing it.

Now, I’m like every other person out there….I wanna shop smart and be thrifty. There is a difference…NOT cheap!!! The way I figure it, if I can make it, I will. Chances are that I can, I usually will look at something and go home and make it better….Wayyyyyy Better!!! Why pay high prices for something when you can spec it to yourself. I fill my Pintrest acct with lots of hacks for women and people that may or may not be on a budget or like me….simply are addicted and loving bargain hunting to make something out of nothing!!! For all the ” Do it yourselfers”, Upcyclers, Recyclers, Homemakers, or just your average JOE…( no pun intended to any JOE”S out there) I say have fun, if you can do it…DO IT!!!

There are ways to make your own Chalk Paint, and craft fairs that wanna charge you ridiculous prices to come for a class. If you wanna do it….do it. Me personally, I wanna take pride in knowing that I customed made something on my own without help. I do take pride in that. I frequent the Thrift Shops, and the Antique stores or malls, and look for the objects that speak out to me to take them home and give them new life….I try to come up with something useful and one of a kind to do or use it for. Most times I do.
I guess that the cool thing…nobody has my things…no copies, mine are all originals!!

I got frustrated when I went to a tore to find out that they take new things and made them look old and sold them at old prices. Lets clear the air here….just because something looks old….doesn’t mean it IS old….and you shouldn’t pay OLD prices!!! I do it all the time. I enjoy working and being crafty when my health allows it and “antiquing ” an object. Its fun….but the reality is, stop paying full price for something you can do on your own!!! We all have skills….we all can do a hobby!!! Get out there and find yours!!!!  Leave your pocket book at home….save your dough, use your cash to buy supplies for yourself and quit giving to those over priced stores!!! Make your one of a kind treasure! You’ll be glad you did!!!

Your worth it!!!

 

IMG_9887

 

EAT, Drink, and BE WELL my Friends!!!

Cheers!!

G- Parkhurst

Leave a Reply

